From doctor to coder, a bumpy and dirty road just following my guts! :)

From doctor to coder, a bumpy and dirty road just following my guts! :)

HighSchool and not following grandpa advice:

I went to high school from 1996 till 2001, got a Bachelor in Biological Sciences, so my school gets me in meds basically. Since ten years old I loved computers, my first PC was a 386 with no RAM at all.

The first day my father brought it, I completely dissembled and built it again from scratch, formatted the hard drive, and installed every driver in any way I could, the operation would have been a success if the audio driver didn't fail in the installation. I got grounded, of course, but that experience marked me for the rest of my life. Right there I learned with a cool book, how memory works, OS loads, BIOS, device controllers, main bus, etc. But I was too young yet.

In highSchool, I always burned cd games, sold cracked software and OSs, I was a big nerd, loved math, physics, and of course bio. In my last year, I didn't know if it was going to be meds or informatic Engineering. I remembered my grandfather RAUL told me that I will suffer from medicine because there is a lot of doctors and they are all burned out ( he was a financial genius, by the way ), so my ego came up very strong, I thought that he didn't know what he was talking about and signed in meds school at University of Buenos Aires. I´d got my degree with honors, and from there was a dirty and bumpy road for sure.

First residence program: SURGERY!

The first attempt was a success, I entered the most recon hospital to make my residence in surgery, I was pretty excited at that time, I remember, came first in the exam, so proud of myself, my ego well-fed, but my eyes quite closed.

The first and only year that I worked there was terrible, no sleep at all, superiors being so unrespectful to me and my fellow companions, really creepy people, family, and friends last priority, and the worst thing: absolutely no empathy with patients.

I think at first that this maybe could change with experience and years, but to the contrary, it was getting worse and worse, so I left and very angry with medicine.

Informatics Engineering:

I went back to my be-loved informatics, signed in to the university, and started engineering. Was an incredible year, learned the basics, math, algebra, coding in C++, python, and many more things. Then after a year, some friend offered me a really great job, that paid really big bucks and I couldn't say no. I had to drop university to work as a doctor in some big company. I´d got so much time to myself in that job that I wasn't so proud, so I get back to study at that time, some coding, and my medicine books again.

Second Residency program: Anesthesiology

So one day I talk to an ophthalmologist friend of my family and he tells me 'Diego, you have to do anesthesia!!!, it is super difficult to enter the residence program but it was at the time the best especially in medicine, economically and academically speaking. I gave the exam and entered the program.

Ok, here I am gonna be very short.

It was one of the best experiences of my life, I really learned medicine and clinically how the body machine works, most deeply. But of course, there was a downside...again THE PEOPLE. They were talking 24/7 about money and how could they turn into millionaires, zero empathy, too much competency between fellows, and too many bosses!, so I resisted as much I could, and finally left that mega-toxic spot. I really learned a lot of things and lived experiences that reinforced a lot of who I am now, but I knew from the start that has a deadline. Of course, as everything in my country, anesthesia has a syndicate, that promotes helping and caring about the patients and the fellow anesthesiologist, far from true, they are parasites exactly as every syndicate parasite drinking blood from the state. (That's another interesting post). So finally I was really intrigued about what to do next.

Hippie Cannabis cultivator phase:

Doing anesthesia I was really passionate about pain management, made a subspeciality in regional blocks ultrasound-guided, and some online courses of cannabis. When it turned legal, I cultivated different strains and made my own CBD oil, and treated patients, family, and friends, taking care of their individual needs of most of them, and going back to old-school medicine.

Excellent experience, I am helping many people with issues that classic medicine drugs couldn't approach. But I needed something more. I was losing my daily dose of dopamine since the first year in surgery residence. My passion was decrescendo and I will confess that felt pretty depressed for some months not knowing w t f to do with my life. Quite disappointed with medicine and remembering my grandfather's advice.

Hopefully, ( and this is the most important part of the post to keep in your neurons) I got the most amazing person by my side, my fiancee, and she, my beautiful daughter, and my family ( yes all that amazing people I was fighting all those years to see and don't lose contact) help me at that point to seek and recover what was the thing that really will make me grow and develop as a better person and could really do for the rest of my life.

The answer was LEARNING and SHARING KNOWLEDGE, I love to teach residents of anesthesia, friends, family, I am always researching, looking for the truth, the value of things and people. Finally, I realized that my path was coding, when I started reading again my old books of assembly, C++ and python, a beast woke up inside me with hunger, so I started to study online courses at first, mastering python and OOP, then I went to HTML and CSS, and little by little immersing in this incredible word.

I came up with blockchain in my cybersec course and in the book from Wenliang Kevin Du was so nicely explained that I really loved it. So my goal was to learn everything I could about crypto, blockchain, and security on the internet. Made a red team junior certification that got me all night long hacking into the exam lab, and finally got my cert. The picture was slowly and smoothly getting into its place.

Cybersec is quite exciting but I was not coding enough, so I decided to became a really good software developer with extremely security awareness. and that's the path I am on right now.

Hope you enjoy this first blog and get to know me a little more.

Keep in touch.

Diego

Contact me on Twitter-(@doctorDAlvarez)